SECTION 504

Pulaski County Special School District has a duty to identify, refer, evaluate and if eligible, provide a free, appropriate public education to disabled students according to Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. For additional information about the rights of parents of eligible children, or for answers to any questions you might have about identification and evaluation for Section 504 services, please contact the Building Level 504 Coordinator.

Download the Section 504 Manual

District Section 504 Coordinator Ms. Quynci Williams at 501.234.2060 or by e-mail at qwilliams@pcssd.org.

Elementary

School

Main Number

504 Building Coordinator

E-Mail

Office Number

Baker Elementary

501-228-3250

Kat Bir

kbir0498@pcssd.org

501-228-3250

Daisy Bates Elementary

501-897-2171

Roy Jackson

rjackson4581@pcssd.org

501-234-4755

Cato Elementary

501-833-1160

Felecia Mayfield

fmayfield8623@pcssd.org

501-833-1160

Chenal Elementary

501-821-7450

Neely Claasen

nclaassen9562@pcssd.org

501-234-3257

Chenal Elementary

501-821-7450

Karen Townsend

ktownsend@pcssd.org

501-234-3267

Clinton Elementary

501-833-1200

Stephanie Donald

sdonald@pcssd.org

501-833-1200

College Station Elementary

501-490-5750

Terri Roberts

troberts8153@pcssd.org

501-234-5059

Crystal Hill Elementary

501-791-8000

Dennis Dewitt

ddewitt5053@pcssd.org

501-791-8000

Harris Elementary

501-955-3550

Nikecia Fuller

nfuller0109@pcssd.org

501-234-5603

Landmark Elementary

501-888-8790

Nicole Beirne

cbeirne9631@pcssd.org

501-888-8790

Lawson Elementary

501-821-7000

April Belcher

abelcher4063@pcssd.org

501-821-7000

Oakbrooke Elementary

501-833-1190

Rachel Dukes

rdukes@pcssd.org

501-833-1190

Oak Grove Elementary

501-851-5370

501-851-5370

Pine Forest Elmentary

501-851-5380

Susan Caldwell

scaldwell3740@pcssd.org

501-851-5380

Robinson Elementary

501-868-2420

Tammy Helmick

thelmick@pcssd.org

501-868-2420

Sherwood Elementary

501-833-1150

Michelle Nicholas

anicholas@pcssd.org

501-833-1150

Sylvan Hills Elementary

501-833-1140

DaNae Smith

dsmith6509@pcssd.org

501-833-1140

DRIVEN Virtual Academy, K-5

​501-234-3700

Tracye Wright

twright8444@pcssd.org

​501-234-3700

Elementary ALC, K-5

​501-234-3700

Mary Carpenter

mcarpenter@pcssd.org

​501-234-3700

Secondary

School

Main Number

504 Building Coordinator

E-Mail

Office Number

Mills Middle

501-490-5730

Marcelle Goins

mgoins8817@pcssd.org

501-490-5730

Maumelle Middle

501-851-8990

Evan Forte

eforte0048@pcssd.org

501-851-8990

Robinson Middle

501-868-2410

Jamie Reed-Moss

jreed3732@pcssd.org

501-868-2410

Sylvan Hills Middle

501-833-1120

Cynthia Moore (6-7)

cmoore@pcssd.org

501-833-1120

Sylvan Hills Middle

501-833-1120

Angela Saine (8)

asaine9614@pcssd.org

501-833-1120

Maumelle High

501-851-5350

Kim Robinson

krobinson8087@pcssd.org

501-851-5350

Mills University Studies High

501-490-5700

Kim Harris

kharris@pcssd.org

501-490-5700

Robinson High

501-868-2400

Damion Patterson

dpatterson@pcssd.org

501-868-2400

Sylvan Hills Junior High

501-833-1170

Michelle Camp

mcamp0893@pcssd.org

501-833-1170

Sylvan Hills High

501-833-1100

Kelly Devun

kdevun@pcssd.org

501-833-1100

DRIVEN Virtual Academy/Center of Innovation, 6-12

501-234-3000

Janetta Hayden

jhayden5877@pcssd.org

501-234-3000

SECTION 504 OF THE REHABILITATION ACT OF 1973

No qualified handicapped (disabled) person shall, on the basis of handicap, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits, of, or otherwise be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity which receives or benefits from Federal financial assistance.” (34 C.F.R. Part 104.4)

The Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 is a national law that protects qualified individuals from discrimination based on their disability. The nondiscrimination requirements of the law apply to employers and organizations that receive financial assistance from any Federal department or agency, including the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). These organizations and employers include many hospitals, nursing homes, mental health centers and human service programs.

Section 504 defines a person with a disability as anyone who:

  • Has a physical or mental impairment which substantially limits one or more major life activities such as caring for one's self, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning and working;

  • Has a record of such impairment or

  • Is regarded as having such an impairment.

Section 504 is designed to provide equal access in general education to students with disabilities, thereby leveling the playing field for them through what is known as a Section 504 Accommodation Plan. The Accommodation Plan is not a plan designed to enhance a student’s performance. It is a plan to provide fairness and equal access to education for students who have a disability.

National Center for Learning Disabilities