Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Finalists Selected in the Innovation Challenge
Finalists Selected in the Innovation Challenge
Thursday, May 20, 2021

As alternative to the annual science fair, students in PCSSD participated in the first ever Innovation Challenge in partnership with the Arkansas Regional Innovation Hub. The challenge was open to 3rd through 12th grade students to showcase their innovative ideas in a creative, new way.

The challenged launched on March 15 and now, nearly eight weeks later, 14 teams have been selected to go forward to the Innovation Challenge Pitch Contest! These teams worked hard to learn new skills and create a project that could solve a real-world problem. 

The students will present to a panel of judges for a virtual pitch competition from 1:30-4:30 pm on Friday, May 21. Each team will present and have a Q&A with judges for about 10 minutes. I will send the zoom invite to you and the students' teachers and let them know how to prepare. 

Congratulations to these student teams:

Seed Dropper 3000: Kanyon Fenwick, Amirah Smith, Elijah Reed & Ethan Rodriquez
The Bee Bunker: Kade Henderson (Gordon), Kenedi Miligan, Miley Griffin & Xaylen Harris
The Luxury Bee Hotel: Aubrie Cochran, A'Lanta Pruitt, Koby Wagner & Joshua Allen

Mask-Jector: Leigh Markham, Will Allaben, Weston Disarro & Yulee You
Grip Wash Gloves: Raina Loomis, Brenaizia Nash & Addison Micks
Drone Dash: Lily Ausbrooks & Aiyanna Floyd
Traveling Jewelry Container: Charvi Vyas & Scarlett Williams

5th GRADE 
Online Organizer: Kyndal Browning & Ava Townsend
Squeezy’z: Brogan Fountain, Cruz Brackeen, Michael Devere, Khloe Brown & Hannah Twitty
The Speaking Glove: Eddie Williams Jade Clayton, Nyala Speller & Angel Cloird
Flying Food: Tori Williams, Delaney Williamson & Asia Cooper

11th & 12th GRADE 
RC Trash Can: Nathan Davenport & Christian Gaddy
Invertibrake: Kade Nelson & Nicholas Strom
Self-Sanitizing Door Handle: Parker May & Lauren Westfall

Many thanks to the teachers who helped guide their students through the Challenge!